vows

Promises to keep for the person I cherish the most

[Timestamp: 04/04/2017 and 04/13/2017]
Twenty years ago, I’ve become acquainted 
With one of the most beautiful
People I’ve ever known.
I didn’t fall in love with you at first sight, though.
It was a process, a slow build-up of being acquaintances,
Then friends,
Then enemies, 
And, finally, lovers. 
Twenty years ago, I did not know I would fall in love.
We were normal strangers, the type who won’t talk to each other
If it weren’t for the circumstances we were in.
You were my polar opposite,
The Yin to my Yang.
You were the rock in the storm,
The calm in a dark room,
The construction of an award-winning essay.
I was the sunshine of messy desks,
The colors of your organized notes,
That one stuffed toy you couldn’t throw away.
To have met you,
And even have fallen in love with you
Was a miracle in itself.
But, I’m glad it happened.
Today, I vow
Even without the physicality of doe eyes to witness
Even without the tongues of praise to testify,
To value you like how I value myself,
To love you as I had loved myself,
To give you an equal who will do everything to keep you happy.
Don’t misinterpret my words, though.
I will not lay my life down for you,
I will not surrender my career and achievements to you,
I will not make you the center of my universe.
Instead, I promise
To keep you in my thoughts regularly,
To pay attention to what you need,
To treat you as a person very capable of anything even without my help,
To give you reign over your own decisions in life,
To give you strength when you need,
To admire the person you’ve become,
To support you in whatever you want to pursue,
To become your travel buddy,
To be your family,
To not be your foundation, but your decorations that continuously give attention to the beauty of who you really are.
I promise you everything I can give, myself,
To the best of my abilities,
And always remind you that
To have loved one’s self first is better than to have loved another.
You are my family, my friend, my adviser, my organizer, my manager,
And most of all,
You are me. 
I love you, and will continue to learn to love you more
Until we both tire of our adventures here
And take it to a higher plane.
I love you, my lovely self
I promise you that I shall be here
Even until the end of our days 
I love you,
I love you,
I love me.

Leave a Reply

